Easier task than expected: testing e-commerce website – Day 15 of 30 Days of Testing

FIND A PROBLEM WITH AN E-COMMERCE WEBSITE

I must admit that today’s challenge was a low-hanging fruit for me. At work I test e-commerce websites and often get teased by my colleagues that I’m constantly shopping.

Talking about e-commerce websites, the main purpose of online stores is… to sell. This makes some functionalities super important because if they do not work – user cannot purchase.

When in online store, in order to make a purchase, user must be able to:

  1. Choose a product
  2. Select a size (color, other features of the product)
  3. Add To Bag
  4. Check Out
  5. Pay successfully using possible way of payment

There can be multiple issues in steps #1 and #2 like product filtering not working properly, color selection not working, etc. However, they are not as major as #3-5.

When choosing a site to test, I wanted to take a look at a website which I haven’t visited before. For that, I decided to search for a nicely looking website and found an article with 20 of the Very Best E-Commerce Websites. This article lists some stylish e-commerce sites.

My choice was a known name (which definitely should have a properly working online store) – Reebok.

I did check global Reebok site first which already had several issues like broken product links, but it did not have an online store, so I changed to the most powerful market when it comes to e-commerce – US.

Major functionalities test had to be executed first and as a real user, I tried to make a purchase using 5 steps I mentioned above with biggest interest in critical functions (3, 4 and 5). And, to my surprise, it took me 5 minutes to find a problem.

In US site of Reebok Check Out using Paypal does not work

  1. Go to a wanted product in the US site of Reebok
  2. Add the item to bag
    Must mention that in this step I did not expect to be redirected to the Shopping Bag because this discourages further shopping and tries to make user complete the Check Out, but this happened!
  3. Click on PayPal CheckOut (any of two button instances)
    Verify that nothing happens – URL gets Redirect addition but the page itself does not change. Trying to pay with PayPal is not possible for a user.

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 6.24.21 PM.png

Notes:

  • I reproduced this issue on both latest Safari and Chrome versions on Mac OS, as well as latest Chrome on Windows 10.
  • I did check different market site (the one in Netherlands) and the user experience was definitely inconsistent: for example, step 2 just gave a popup if you want to Check Out or continue browsing and Paypal redirection did work.
  • Also, if you actually Check Out in US market and then click to Check Out with Paypal – you are redirected back to Shopping Bag.

This video illustrates displays the issue and points mentioned in this post:

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Easier task than expected: testing e-commerce website – Day 15 of 30 Days of Testing

Leave a Reply

