Pineapples do taste sweeter with salt – Day 6 of 30 Days of Testing

PERFORM A CRAZY TEST

Today’s challenge made me think hard and do a lot of googling to find my crazy test. I even looked up the definition (mad, wild, unusual or extremely enthusiast). Colleagues also couldn’t think of anything particularly crazy. Only one developer required me to listen to Britney Spears – Crazy while doing the test. I completely forgot during execution, so I am listening to it now (makes it more challenging to put thoughts together, indeed!).

The closest to crazy test for me is stress/security testing. However, it already is a way of testing and it’s not really mad or unusual. As well as, bounds testing, monkey testing, cats testing – you name it. Believing that it still can be a usual tester’s activity, I decided to test a hypothesis and found one experimental fact to test:

Pineapples taste sweeter with salt.

Not everyday I eat pineapples with salt – in normal conditions I would not do that, but have to try to be crazy for a day!

DSC_0005-002.JPG

Requirements:
Pineapple
Salt

About the test:
Test passes if hypothesis is proved with at least one specific condition. The condition should be specified. Testing is not limited by any specific way of eating, the amount of salt can be variable in conditions and test products should not be mixed with any other products.

The first step definitely was to check the sweetness of pineapple alone. How do we rate sweetness? Well, I may have a large human error, but I had to trust my taste buds. I made sure that I did not eat anything a few hours before, so I could taste it well. The inital sweetness was rather a mild sweetness, not too sour, very mildly sweet.

Bounds of adding salt had to be defined. Hypothesis did not have anything about it: what should be the amount of salt for the hypothesis to pass?
I decided to check 3 salt amount cases: 1) Minimal amount – a tiny bit on the edge of the pineapple; 2) Average amount of salt – all edge is covered with salt; 3) Maximum of salt – all “open” pineapple parts are covered in salt.

Test results summary:
DSC_0007-001.JPG

Salt did affect the sweetness compared to the initial tasting. The amount of salt affects taste receptors, so best conditions to pass the test are #1 and #2 – from little to average salt. Salt plays with taste buds and mixing up with pineapple’s sweet/sour, it can create an illusion that pineapple is sweeter. Especially nice/clearer taste is when salt affects the tip of the tongue – part responsible for sweet tastes. However, too much of salt can overrule sweet and make it taste salty.

Conclusion:
I did end up eating almost half of pineapple, but this challenge was definitely something interesting to do and experiment. Yay for the crazy!

 

3 thoughts on “Pineapples do taste sweeter with salt – Day 6 of 30 Days of Testing

  1. Hi,
    I wrote a long comment but it got deleted.
    In short : just wanted to say that it sounds like a fun test. And that it’s a good idea to report all in a blog, as I find twitter to be very limiting.
    Also, although I’m still looking for ideas for my crazy test, at least I got to cover day 5 task here 🙂
    Alon.

    • Hey Alon!

      I fully agree that it’s very nice to report it in a blog as you get extra thoughts usually from these challenges, so why not to make a useful content.
      Thanks a lot for commenting, I’m not sure why your previous comment disappear as I did not get the notification even.

      Lina

Leave a Reply

