It’s wonderful to work in a great team – Day 4 of 30 Days of Testing

SHARE A TESTING BLOG POST WITH A NON-TESTER

Yesterday night, soon approaching midnight, I have noticed that one of my rarely online friends (database developer) got online and thought of using a chance to share an article with him. I was searching quickly to find an article which would be understandable from many professionals’ perspectives, so my article choice was rather a ‘controversial’ topic in a way: more detailed (could say that it was a second part of a previous version) article by Anne-Marie Charrett called “Nuance on leaving testing to the experts“.

After sharing this article with my friend, I have realized that being a developer he’s not particularly a non-tester. So, I decided to ask someone at work what they think of it as well (because database developer went to sleep that night promising to read it in the morning and who knows when he comes back online again with his comments). At work I have found a perfect candidate rather easily – a wonderful outspoken UX designer sitting right in front of me.

The article I shared was rather a more detailed version of “Leave the testing to the experts!” article which caused quite a few comments and Maaret Pyhäjärvi’s response “Work on culture: being told and offering views”.

My colleague not only read the article I sent, but as well the original article and Maaret’s comments. He said that he understands both Anne-Marie and Maaret: “The final decision should be the expert’s, but collaborating with people is a good thing. Sometimes the best ideas come from non-experts. And if you work with competent developers, you can basically be sure that the product they hand over to you for testing should have very minimal number of bugs, so it’s like a trust thing.”

When I asked him  of his opinion on who is responsible for a bug going out to production, he told me that both programmer and tester should be.

This made me quite happy to be working with colleagues who have rather similar attitude to mine. I see Anne-Marie’s point as well and definitely agree with Maaret, for me summary of this would be that: telling what to do may be poison in a team, but offering what to do can help you improve.

I am pretty lucky with my team and company. There was never a saying ‘you must’, my work always involves my own decisions and confirmation. Eventually, it’s me who is testing, so the ways how to do it should work for me to begin with. I definitely soak in all the information I get at work as tips for my testing to be improved. So, in other words:

Please, offer me how to do my work (or rather improve it), all advice is welcome – in the end we are a team even if testing area is my main job

Experience of sharing an article with a non-tester colleague was great: especially to realize that they understand you and your job quite well. Knowledge share is great and we should all do that – because it’s not like in this comic (don’t do that), we all know something that others don’t.

dt000613

One thought on “It’s wonderful to work in a great team – Day 4 of 30 Days of Testing

Leave a Reply

